“I do!”

to-do list

To-do lists are not my favourite literature. I prefer Zweig or Leopardi, Goethe or Dante, but To-do lists? No, thank you. They smell of bureaucracy, management, and office pressure. Not too much the kind of company my libertine, chaotic, and spontaneous spirit would choose. The problem with a libertine, chaotic, and spontaneous spirit: at the end of the day, there is often a lot of artistic air, but not much of an outcome, to put it boringly plainly. So once every 133.5 days I make a to-do list. Full of enthusiasm, new courage, and a lot of hope. Just in order to realize that, at the end of the day, I accomplished not even a third of what I planned to. Not the best prerequisite to repeat it the following day.

What I realize: to-do lists have the wrong name. They shouldn’t be called To-do lists, but I-will-do lists. You think there is not much of a difference? Then take a look at all these inspiring people who say that they wrote down, for example, 50 crazy things they wanted to do until they reach 50 years of age. And they actually did them. The reason for their success? They wrote down what they will have done by the time they hit that age. Not what they have to do. Subtle difference in wording, huge difference in our mind. And in the results.

So I wrote a personal commitment tonight: until April 30 I will write an I-will-do list every evening before I prepare for bed. I believe that the next day begins with the preceding evening – in many ways. The creation story in Genesis says it this way: “And there was evening and there was morning, the first day.” (Gen 1:5) Everybody knows that our evening determines to a big degree how we master the following morning and even the whole day (Have you never partied all night through and felt it the next day?! ;)… ). Also, I love new beginnings. Just a few things motivate and inspire me as blank paper, empty notebooks, unfurnished rooms do. And having figured out (and written down!) the things I will do that day already in the evening before, frees me to simply start the new day more relaxed, since some thoughts are already taken care of.

Second resolution for today: I want to read at least a solid 60-min hour every day something related to my actual profession (which I am not working in right now, but plan to stay up-to-date so that I can work there later). Test phase: Until April 30. It takes 30 days to form a habit, right?

May 1 is E-Day: Evaluation Day.

What did you decide today?

Leave a Reply

